Lung fibrosis in systemic sclerosis - grading by Wells et al.

Wells classification of lung involvement in systemic sclerosis is a quantitative scoring method of disease extent and severity. All lobes are scored independently. Maximum score for each lobe is 5.

Grade Description
1 Ground glass opacity alone
2 Ground glass opacity > reticular pattern extent
3 Ground glass opacity = reticular pattern extent

Otosclerosis - Veillon classification of otosclerosis

Otosclerosis is a primitive dystrophia of the temporal bone that leads to abnormal bone growth. Veillon classification divides sites and extension of otosclerosis based on finding on HRCT of the temporal bone into 6 types.

Type Description
Ia isolated thickening of the footplate hypodensity
Ib isolated anterior fenestral hypodensity <1mm (AFH)
II isolated anterior fenestral hypodensity >1mm (AFH)

Hawkin's classification of talar neck fractures

Hawkin's classification system divides fractures of the neck of talus into four types according to the degree of displacement and resulting risk of avascular necrosis. Higher type implies greater risk of complications.

Type Description Subluxation Avascular necrosis
Type I Undisplaced fracture of talar neck no rare
Type II Fracture of talar neck with mild displacement

Winquist and Hansen classification of femoral shaft fractures - fracture of thigh bone

Winquist and Hansen classification, usually abbreviated by the name of the first author, divides fractures of femoral shaft into four grades according to the amount of bone comminution. Sometimes, grade V is reffered to as a segmental bone loss. However the original classification contains only four grades.

Grade Description
Grade I no comminution or minimal comminution with a small wedge fragment < 25% of the circumference of the bone
Grade II

Pauwels classification of femoral neck fractures - hip fracture

Pauwels' classification divides femoral neck fractures into three grades according to the degrees of the inclination of the fracture line, so called Pauwels' angle. The distinction between grade II and III is often misinterpreted. Moreover, as originally pointed by Pauwels, the distinction between grade I and II should be also based on the presence of a shearing force, which can be neutralized by impaction. Therefore, some fractures with more vertical fracture line (>30 degrees) may still be considered grade I.

Garden classification of femoral neck fractures - hip fracture

Garden classification is the most commonly used classification system for femoral neck fractures. It was devised in 1961 by a British orthopaedic surgeon, who divided them into four stages according to displacement of fragments. It is considered superior to Pauwels classification.

Stage Description
Garden I Incomplete fracture - usually impacted valgus fracture
Garden II Complete fracture - undisplaced
Garden III

Lauge Hansen classification of ankle fractures

Lauge-Hansen classification of ankle fractures is based on the mechanism of trauma. It describes position of the foot (supination or pronation) and the direction of the applied force (abduction, adduction, external rotation) at the time of the injury. Therefore, it uses two word description of its types. The five main groups can be subdivided into stages according to the degree of severity.

Type Abbrev. Weber equivalent
Supination-Adduction SA Weber A

Fracture of distal fibula - Weber classification of ankle fractures, Danis-Weber classification

Danis-Weber classification, commony abbreviated as Weber classification of ankle fractures, divides distal fibular factures into three types according to the relation of the fracture line to the distal tibiofibular syndesmosis.

Type Description
Weber A below the tibiofibular syndesmosis
Weber B at the level of the tibiofibular syndesmosis
Weber C

Fracture of calcaneus - Sanders CT classification of intra-articular fractures

The Sanders classification is based on CT evaluation of calcaneus in coronal plane. The classification was published in 1992 and it takes into account location and number of fracture lines. The image is evaluated in coronal plane where it shows the posterior articular facet in its widest (latero-lateral) profile, where the location of primary fracture line with relation to the posterior articular facet is determined (intra-articular fracture).

Type Description
Type I

Fracture of femoral head - Pipkin classification

Pipkin classification system divides fractures of the femoral head into four basic types according to relation of fracture line to the fovea capitis femoris and associated injury of the femoral neck or the acetabulum. It was first published in 1957.

Type Description
Type I fracture line inferior to the fovea capitis femoris
Type II fracture line superior to the fovea capitis femoris
Type III
Syndicate content