Fracture of pelvis - Young and Burgess classification of pelvic fractures

The Young-Burgess classification system divides pelvic fracture by the direction of the force involved into three basic types - anteroposterior compression (APC), lateral compression (LC), and vertical shear (VC). First two types have three subgroups with increasing degree of severity of the injury

Type Description
Anterioposterior compression (APC)
APC I diastasis of symphysis <2.5cm
APC II diastasis of symphysis >2.5cm, diastasis in the anterior part of the SI joint, while posterior SI ligaments are intact
APC III diastasis of symphysis >2.5cm, disruption of both anterior and posterior SI ligaments with dislocation in SI joint
Lateral compression (LC)
LC I oblique fracture of pubic rami and anterior compression fracture of sacral ala on ipsilateral side
LC II fracture of pubic rami and posterior fracture of ipsilateral iliac bone with dislocation
LC III ipsilateral lateral compression (LC) and contralateral anterioposterior compression (APC)
Vertical shear (VS)
VS fracture by superior and posterior force



1. Kellam JF, Mayo K. Pelvic ring disruptions. In: Browner BD, Jupiter JB, Levine AM, et al., eds. Skeletal Trauma, 3rd ed. Philadelphia, PA: WB Saunders, 2003:1052–1062..
2. Manson T, O’Toole RV, Whitney A, Duggan B, Sciadini M, Nascone J. Young-Burgess classification of pelvic ring fractures: does it predict mortality, transfusion requirements, and non-orthopaedic injuries? J Orthop Trauma. 2010 Oct;24(10):603–9
3. Young JWR, Burgess AR. Radiologic Management of Pelvic Ring Fractures. Baltimore, Munich, Urban & Schwarzenberg, 1987.