Classification of acetabular fractures by Harris and Coupe

Harris and Coupe classification was published in 2004. It is based on axial CT images of pelvis and has four basic types. Type II has four subtypes.

Types Description
Type 0 Wall fracture - limited to the posterior and posterosuperior or anterior wall component of the columns
Type I Single column fracture - limited to only anterior or posterior column, may extend superiorly or inferiorly from the acetabulum
Type II Two column fracture - simultaneous involvement of anterior and posterior column
Subcategory by extension:
IIA: none
IIB: superior
IIC: inferior
IID: superior and inferior
Type III Floating acetabulum: articulating surface is detached from the axial skeleton


1. Harris JH Jr, Coupe KJ, Lee JS, Trotscher T. Acetabular fractures revisited: part 2, a new CT-based classification. AJR Am J Roentgenol. 2004 Jun;182(6):1367–75
2. Durkee NJ, Jacobson J, Jamadar D, Karunakar MA, Morag Y, Hayes C. Classification of common acetabular fractures: radiographic and CT appearances. AJR Am J Roentgenol. 2006 Oct;187(4):915–25.