Fracture of shoulder blade, Zdravkovic - Damholt classification of scapular fractures

Zdravkovic classification divides scapular fractures into three types according to their anatomical location.

Type Description
Type I fracture of the body of scapula
Type II fracture of the apophysis including the coracoid and acromion
Type III fracture of the supero-lateral angle including the neck and glenoid


Idiopathic Lung fibrosis - semiquantitative grading of fibrotic and ground glass score

Gay et al. used a semiquantitative score to objectively assess the extent of lung fibrosis. In the study, each lobe was scored separately and mean of all lobes was used as a fibrotic, ground glass, and total score for each patient.

Alveolar score Description
0 no alveolar disease
1 ground glass opacity involving <5% of the lobe (minimal disease)
2 ground glass opacity involving <25% of the lobe

Lung fibrosis - semiquantitative grading by Warrick et al.

Warrick classification of lung involvement in interstitial lung disease is a quantitative scoring method of disease extent and severity. The grading involves the following features of the disease:

Feature Grading
Global disease extent Estimated to the nearest 5%
Extent of reticulation Proportion of total disease extent
Extent of ground-glass Proportion of total disease extent

Lung fibrosis in systemic sclerosis - grading by Wells et al.

Wells classification of lung involvement in systemic sclerosis is a quantitative scoring method of disease extent and severity. All lobes are scored independently. Maximum score for each lobe is 5.

Grade Description
1 Ground glass opacity alone
2 Ground glass opacity > reticular pattern extent
3 Ground glass opacity = reticular pattern extent

Otosclerosis - Veillon classification of otosclerosis

Otosclerosis is a primitive dystrophia of the temporal bone that leads to abnormal bone growth. Veillon classification divides sites and extension of otosclerosis based on finding on HRCT of the temporal bone into 6 types.

Type Description
Ia isolated thickening of the footplate hypodensity
Ib isolated anterior fenestral hypodensity <1mm (AFH)
II isolated anterior fenestral hypodensity >1mm (AFH)

Fracture of calcaneus - Sanders CT classification of intra-articular fractures

The Sanders classification is based on CT evaluation of calcaneus in coronal plane. The classification was published in 1992 and it takes into account location and number of fracture lines. The image is evaluated in coronal plane where it shows the posterior articular facet in its widest (latero-lateral) profile, where the location of primary fracture line with relation to the posterior articular facet is determined (intra-articular fracture).

Type Description
Type I

Fractures of glenoid of scapula - Ideberg classification

Ideberg classification of glenoid fractures has five basic types. It is based on evaluation of 
338 glenoid fractures and was published in 1995.

Type Description
Type I anterior glenoid rim fracture: avulsion fracture of the anterior glenoid rim
IA: fragment size <=5mm
IB: fragment size >5mm measured on the film
Type II

Anderson and D'Alonzo classification of odontoid fractures, fractures of dens axis (C2)

Odontoid fractures are classified into three types. Type III is not an odontoid fracture but rather fracture of the vertebral body.

Type Description
Type I avulsion fracture of the tip of dens (rare)
Type II fracture at the base of dens - most common (cca 2/3)
Type III fracture extends into the body of the vertebra, does not involve dens (cca 1/3)

Fracture of the base of the first metacarpal bone (thumb) - types

Three types of fracture of the base of the first metacapal bone (thumb) are distinguished by eponyms.

Type Description
Winterstein oblique extraarticular fracture of the base
Bennett oblique intraarticular fracture of the base with dislocation of the peripheral fragment due to lateral traction of the shaft by abductor pollicis longus

Fracture of atlas (C1) - Gehweiler classification

The Gehweiler classification divides fractures of the first cervical vertebra into five types. Type III is also refered to as Jefferson fracture. The classical Jefferson fracture is a four part fracture, where both the anterior and the posterior arch is fractured twice, but fractures with two or three fracture parts may also occur.

Type Description
Type I fracture of the anterior arch
Type II fracture of the posterior arch
Syndicate content